Upcoming Events

Apr 13

SummitUp 2020

The new date for SummitUp is August 4th. We hope to see you at this year's SummitUp, the region's premier conference on all facets of marketing. 2020 is the 11th SummitUp!

Register Now

AAF Silver Medal Award

The American Advertising Federation’s Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, AAF clubs/federations bestow this honor upon outstanding community leaders.


Silver Medal recipients are selected by a panel of judges from each local club. Judges use the following AAF criteria when making their selections:

Contribution to His/Her Company – The recipient must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: advertising agency, advertiser, media or advertising service

Creative Ability – The recipient must have shown a consistent, high degree of original thinking in their field.

Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising – The recipient must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.

Contributions to the Community – The recipient should be someone who has been active in civic, religious, or other groups dedicated to human or social welfare.

In December of each year, the AAF-Dayton Silver Medal chairs send out the Call for Nominations to AAF-Dayton members who are invited to submit written nominations for anyone they feel meets the above criteria.  Nominations are then sent to all AAF-Dayton Silver Medal recipients, who carefully condsider each one before casting their vote for the individual they feel meets the criteria and is deserving for this honor.  The individual with the most votes will receive this honor.


AAF-Dayton recipients of AAF Silver Medal Award are:

  • E. Bartlett Brooks (1988)

  • Elwyn E. Failor (1990)

  • Edward R. Lang (1991)

  • John K. Webster (1992)

  • John D. Yeck (1993)

  • William H. Ford (1994)

  • Walter Ohlmann (1995)

  • Thomas J. Doran Jr. (1996)

  • William F. Patterson (1997)

  • Toula Stamm (1998)

  • William Wagner (1999)

  • Ernie Ruffolo (2000)

  • Barbara Miller (2001)

  • Jerold Jamieson (2002)

  • Dan Johnson (2002)

  • Robert A. Yeck (2003)

  • Norman J. Vallone (2004)

  • Michael Fariello (2005)

  • Tim Potter (2005)

  • Donna Childs (2006)

  • Jeff Becht (2007)

  • Fred Tuzzi (2008)

  • Jim Hausfeld (2009)

  • Pat Parrish (2010)

  • Dave Hafenbrack (2011)

  • Marvin Christian (2012)

  • Sara McCatherine (2013)

  • Jayne McDougall (2014)

  • Linda Kahn (2015)

  • Nick Stamas (2016)

  • Mark Stockstill (2016)

  • A.J. Buse´ (2016)

  • Steve Greenblatt (2017)

  • David Bowman (2018)

  • Roxann Patrick (2019)