Upcoming Events

Jan 16

Hermes Call for Entries

Mark your calendar now for the Hermes Call for Entries

Jan 24

UD Arena Video Transformation & Athletics Video/Media Plan

UD Arena has undergone a video transformation. Join us to see it all and their new state of the art video facilities

Register Now

Feb 1

Maggie Nichols of Eureka! Ranch - February Lunch Meeting

Join us to hear Maggie Nichols, President & COO of Eureka! Ranch

Register Now

AAF Silver Medal Award

The American Advertising Federation’s Silver Medal Award Program was established in 1959 to recognize men and women who have made outstanding contributions to advertising and who have been active in furthering the industry’s standards, creative excellence and responsibility in areas of social concern. Annually, AAF clubs/federations bestow this honor upon outstanding community leaders.


Silver Medal recipients are selected by a panel of judges from each local club. Judges use the following criteria when making their selections:

Contribution to His/Her Company – The recipient must have achieved success in one of the following areas of work: advertising agency, advertiser, media or advertising service

Creative Ability – The recipient must have shown a consistent, high degree of original thinking in their field.

Contributions to the General Advancement of Advertising – The recipient must have worked to increase the stature and raise the standards of the advertising profession.

Contributions to the Community – The recipient should be someone who has been active in civic, religious, or other groups dedicated to human or social welfare.

AAF-Dayton recipients of AAF Silver Medal Award are:

  • E. Bartlett Brooks (1988)

  • Elwyn E. Failor (1990)

  • Edward R. Lang (1991)

  • John K. Webster (1992)

  • John D. Yeck (1993)

  • William H. Ford (1994)

  • Walter Ohlmann (1995)

  • Thomas J. Doran Jr. (1996)

  • William F. Patterson (1997)

  • Toula Stamm (1998)

  • William Wagner (1999)

  • Ernie Ruffolo (2000)

  • Barbara Miller (2001)

  • Jerold Jamieson (2002)

  • Dan Johnson (2002)

  • Robert A. Yeck (2003)

  • Norman J. Vallone (2004)

  • Michael Fariello (2005)

  • Tim Potter (2005)

  • Donna Childs (2006)

  • Jeff Becht (2007)

  • Fred Tuzzi (2008)

  • Jim Hausfeld (2009)

  • Pat Parrish (2010)

  • Dave Hafenbrack (2011)

  • Marvin Christian (2012)

  • Sara McCatherine (2013)

  • Jayne McDougall (2014)

  • Linda Kahn (2015)